Calendar on the SMART Board

Two years ago, I lost my calendar wall when our SMART Boards went up in the classrooms.  It took me some time to wrap my  head around the change, but I’ve finally got it figured out.

Now I’ve got our entire calendar routine in a SMART Document.

 The kids actually love it and so do I.

It takes some training and practice, but by this time of the year, my students are independent with the routine.  I can change out reading folders and prep my day while the Leader of the Day leads the class through the calendar routine.  I still jump in here and there to ask more challenging questions or focus the class if needed.

The calendar also changes over time as different concepts are introduced and become the focus of learning.

These two pages are focused on days and months of the year. We sing and move the images to match the days of the week.  There are also icons on each day of the week to help the children read each word.

Right now we are still reviewing letter names and sounds each morning with different chants and songs.  Each letter also has a movement that we practice.  The sound movements relate to each alphafriend character.

 However, our focus will soon shift to making words, word families, and vowels as we begin to make cvc words.

Each week we introduce 2-3 new sight words.

I add the new words to our calendar routine and we sing the words each morning.

I love hundreds charts.  I have found them to be a crucial visual aid when teaching number sense, counting, patterns, the concept of addition, and even the value of each coin.  We use this page to count the number of days we have been in school so far.

We use this interactive hundreds chart to count by 10’s each morning.

Counting the number of days we’ve been in school with tally marks is difficult for kindergarten, because #1 counting by 5’s is hard, but #2 because the children have to switch from counting up by 5’s to 1’s.  The interactive hundreds chart helps my students to “see” how this counting-up strategy works and it gives them a big boast in their ability to count in this way.

We also use place value blocks to count the number of days we have been in school.

 This is our last slide for now.  Later we will add addition and subtraction.

Leave a Reply

