We are all the Same and Different

IMG_0640

We’ve begun our Children around the World unit.  This year we are incorporating gingerbread men, learning about traditions in different countries as they run around the world.  I’m working on the packet as we go.  Most of the around the world packets I see out there focus on Christmas traditions, which I’m trying to get away from.  Instead, I’m looking for kinder friendly folktales and children’s books, that teach a moral or lesson.

Here is a free report you can use with your students.

children around the world title

We enjoyed making our life-sized portraits.  It’s a lot of work for the teacher, but the kids love it and it is such a great learning experience for the kids.  We have great conversations as we try to match our hair and eye color, clothes, and skin.  There are many good books out there to support the theme of same and different.  My favorite by far is…

same and different

2 thoughts on “We are all the Same and Different

  1. I have used your Children Around the World report in my ESL classes this year and we loved doing research and integrating technology with your packet! I am presenting at an AMTESOL conference this weekend and would love to include information with this activity but would like to make sure I am giving you the full credit you deserve. If you would like to see a copy of my handout and the information regarding your materials that I am presenting, please email me and I would be more than happy to send the information to you!
    Thank you again for your awesome contribution!

Leave a Reply

